Plunder

Plunder a memoir of family property and stolen Nazi treasure KAISER, Menachem

For readers of Philippe Sands and Jonathan Safran Foer, this is an unputdownable tale of one man's quest to recover his family's property, plundered by the Nazis.

Menachem Kaiser's brilliantly told story, woven from improbable events and profound revelations, is set in motion when the author takes up his Holocaust-survivor grandfather's former battle to reclaim the family's property in Sosnowiec, Poland.

Soon, he is on a circuitous path to encounters with the long-time residents of the building and with a Polish lawyer known as 'The Killer'. A surprise discovery - that his grandfather's cousin not only survived the war but also wrote a secret memoir while a slave labourer in a vast, secret Nazi tunnel complex - leads to Kaiser being adopted as a virtual celebrity by a band of Silesian treasure-seekers who revere the memoir as the indispensable guidebook to Nazi plunder.

Propelled by rich, original research, Kaiser immerses readers in profound questions that reach far beyond his personal quest. What does it mean to seize your own legacy? Can reclaimed property repair rifts among the living? Plunder is both a deeply immersive adventure story and an irreverent, daring interrogation of inheritance - material, spiritual, familial, and emotional.

€19,99

Voor 17.00 besteld, morgen in huis
(Op werkdagen)
Nota bene: de coronacrisis beïnvloedt de levertijden.

Op voorraad in de volgende winkels:
Spui 14-16, Athenaeum Boekhandel & Nieuwscentrum
Beethovenstraat 30-32, Amsterdam
  Zet op verlanglijst

Specificaties

ISBN
9781911617495
Uitgever
Scribe Publications
Druk
1e
Datum
12-08-2021
Taal
Engels
Bladzijden
288 pp.
Bindwijze
Paperback

Delen op

Meer op Athenaeum.nl over boeken

4 redenen om dit boek bij ons te kopen

  • Gratis verzending vanaf € 20,-
  • Advies per telefoon
  • Bestellen zonder registratie of login
  • Vertrouwde service, veilige afhandeling

pro-mbooks1 : athenaeum