William Boyd en Simon Mawer op shortlist Walter Scott Prize 2016

24 maart 2016
| | | | | | |

William Boyd en Simon Mawer staan op de shortlist van de Walter Scott Prize 2016. Dat werd gisteren bekendgemaakt.

'Honouring the achievements of the founding father of the historical novel, the Walter Scott Prize for Historical Fiction is one of the most prestigious literary prizes in the world.' En een van de weinig die slechts dit genre bekroont. De afgelopen jaren werden John Spurling (2015, The Ten Thousand Things), Robert Harris (2014, An Officer and a Spy), Tan Twan Eng (2013, The Garden of Evening Mists), Sebastian Barry (2012, On Canaan’s Side) en Hilary Mantel (2010: Wolf Hall) bekroond.

De jury:

'Each place in our shortlist was hard fought, as it has been another exceptional year for historical fiction. This embarrassment of riches forced us to focus our lens more closely on fiction which evokes an authentic atmosphere of the past, rather than that which solely deals with the nature of memory.'

18 juni wordt de winnaar bekendgemaakt.

pro-mbooks1 : athenaeum